WBO Convention Awards at Gala Dinner in Tokyo, Japan

WBO Convention Awards at Gala Dinner in Tokyo, Japan

In a festive atmosphere, the WBO 32nd Annual Convention celebrated their Awards in a very crowded Gala Dinner at the Tokyo Dome Hotel.

WBO Boxer of The Year:
Unified WBO Lightweight Champion Vasiliy Lomachenko

WBO Female Boxer of the Year:
7 Division World Champion and WBO Super Champion Amanda Serrano

WBO Most Consistent and Durable Champion:
WBO Welterweight World Champion Terence Crawford

Special Recognition to Japan Pro Boxing Association Lifetime President
2-Division Champion of the World Fighting Harada

Special WBO Diamond Ring for more than five title defenses:

WBO Flyweight World Champion Kosei Tanaka

WBO Manager of the Year:
Egis Klimas

WBO Trainer of the Year
Anatoly Lomachenko

WBO Promoter of the Year
Bob Arum (Top Rank)

WBO 2019 Fight of Year
Anthony Joshua vs. Andy Ruiz I

WBO Outstanding Achievement as a Boxer
Former WBO Jr. Bantamweight Champion and current IBF/WBA Bantamweight World Champion Naoya Inoue

Personal Overcoming Achievement
WBO Mini-Flyweight World Champion Wilfredo ‘Bimbito’ Méndez

Special Recognitions to:
Promoter Akihiko Honda, Kazuto Ioka, Jorge Linares, Iván Calderón, Istvan ‘koko’ Kovacs, Acelino ‘Popo’ Freitas, Donnie Nietes, and Matchroom Boxing.

Among the prominent participants were the Italian Premier promoter, Salvatore Cherchi, the Miami, Florida promoter, Felix “Tutico” Zabala, the legendary Japanese matchmaker and “hall of famer”, Joe Koizumi, the Kazakh promoters, Kalikhan Akdrashev and Nurshin Tanat ( Suleimen Promotions), the Japanese promoter, Shingo Suzuki, the German matchmaker, Christof Haverkamp (SES Boxing), the international promoter and Matchmaker, Sean Gibbons (and Sherriff Woody), the Russian leader, Kirill Shchekutyev, the German promoter, Erol Ceylan the American promoter, Dino Duva, the Ukrainian promoter, Alexander Krassyuk (K2 Promotions Ukraine), the American promoter, Tom Loeffler, the English promoter, Francis Warren (Queensberry Promotions), the English matchmaker, Jason McClory (Queensberry Promotions), the German promoter Ulf Steinforth (SES Boxing) and the American promoter Carl Moretti (Top Rank).

Next year’s WBO Convention will take place in the city of San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Photo Inoue/Lomachenko by Naoki Fukuda